Table 4.30

State Comptrollers: 2022

FIPS State Agency or office Name Title Legal
basis for
Method of
Approval or
confirmation, if
Length of term Elected
Civil service or
merit system
01AlabamaOffice of the State ComptrollerKathleen BaxterState ComptrollerS(c)AG(b)
02AlaskaDivision of FinanceHans ZigmundFinance DirectorS(d)AG(a)
04ArizonaGeneral Accounting OfficeAshley RuizAssistant Director of Business & FinanceS(d)AG(i)
05ArkansasDept. of Finance and AdministrationLarry WaltherChief Fiscal Officer, SecretarySGAG(i)
54West VirginiaFinance Division, Office of the State ComptrollerDave MullinsActing Finance DirectorS(d)AG(a)(i)
06CaliforniaOffice of the State ControllerBetty Yee (D)State ControllerCE4 yrs.2 terms
08ColoradoDepartment of Personnel and AdministrationBob JarosState ControllerS(d)AG(i)(l)
09ConnecticutOffice of the ComptrollerNatalie Braswell (D)ComptrollerCE4 yrs.N/A
10DelawareDept. of FinanceJane ColeDirector, Division of AccountingS(e)AG(i)
12FloridaDept. of Financial ServicesJimmy PatronisChief Financial OfficerC,SE4 yrs.2 terms
13GeorgiaState Accounting OfficeGerlda HinesState Accounting OfficerSG(a)
15HawaiiDept. of Accounting and General ServicesCurt OtaguroState ComptrollerSGAS4 yrs.
16IdahoOffice of State ControllerBrandon WoolfState ControllerCE4 yrs.No limit
17IllinoisOffice of the State ComptrollerSusana Mendoza (D)State ComptrollerCE4 yrs.No limit
18IndianaOffice of the Auditor of StateTera Klutz (R)Auditor of StateCE4 yrs.No more than 8 years in a 12-year period
19IowaState Accounting EnterpriseJay ClevelandChief Operating OfficerS(d)(i)
20KansasOffice of Accounts and ReportsNancy RuoffInterim Director of Office of Accounts & ReportsS(d)(i)
21KentuckyOffice of the ControllerEdgar C. RossControllerS(f)AG(i)
22LouisianaOffice of Statewide Reporting and Accounting PolicyJay DardenneCommissioner of AdministrationSG(a)
23MaineOffice of the State ControllerDouglas CotnoirState ControllerS(f)AG(i)
24MarylandOffice of the Comptroller of the TreasuryPeter Franchot (D)State ComptrollerCE4 yrs.No limit
25MassachusettsOffice of the ComptrollerWilliam McNamaraComptrollerSG4 yrs.
26MichiganOffice of Financial ManagementHeather BoydDirectorSSBDSBD2 yrs.
27MinnesotaOffice of Management and BudgetJames SchowalterCommissionerSGAS4 yrs.
28MississippiDepartment of Finance and AdministrationLiz WelchExecutive DirectorC,SGAS(a)
29MissouriDivision of AccountingStacy NealDirector of AccountingS(d)(i)
30MontanaState Accounting DivisionCheryl GreyAdministrator, State Financial Services DivisionS(j)(b)
31NebraskaState Accounting DivisionPhilip OlsenState Accounting AdministratorS(d)(b)
32NevadaOffice of the State ControllerCatherine Byrne (D)State ControllerC, SE4 yrs.2 terms
33New HampshireDepartment of AdministrationDana CallState ComptrollerSG(m)4 yrs.
34New JerseyOffice of Management and BudgetLynn AzarchiActing DirectorSG(a)
35New MexicoDepartment of Finance and Administration, Financial Control DivisionDonna TrujilloState Controller and DirectorSG(a)
36New YorkOffice of the State ComptrollerThomas P. DiNapoliState ComptrollerC,SE4 yrs.No limit
37North CarolinaOffice of the State ControllerLinda CombsState ControllerSGGA7 yrs.
38North DakotaOffice of Management and BudgetJoe MorrisetteDirectorSG(a)
39OhioOffice of Budget and ManagementKim MurnieksDirectorSG(a)
40OklahomaOffice of State FinanceLynne BajemaState ComptrollerS(g)(h)
41OregonChief Financial OfficeRobert HamiltonManager, Statewide Accounting and Reporting ServicesS(k)(i)
42PennsylvaniaOffice of the Budget/Comptroller OperationsBrian LymanState Comptroller/Chief Accounting OfficerSSBDAG(a)
44Rhode IslandOffice of Accounts and ControlDorothy PascaleState ControllerS(d)(i)
45South CarolinaOffice of the Comptroller GeneralRichard Eckstrom (R)Comptroller GeneralC,SE4 yrs.No limit
46South DakotaOffice of the State AuditorRichard Sattgast (R)State Auditor
47TennesseeDivision of AccountsMike CorricelliChief of AccountsS(f)(b)
48TexasOffice of the Comptroller of Public AccountsGlenn Hegar (R)Comptroller of Public AccountsC,SE4 yrs.No limit
49UtahDivision of FinanceJanica GinesDirector, Division of FinanceS(d)AG(i)
50VermontDepartment of Finance and ManagementAdam GreshinCommissionerS(d)AG,AS(i)
51VirginiaDepartment of AccountsDavid A. Von MollState ComptrollerSGGA4 yrs.
53WashingtonOffice of Financial ManagementDavid SchumacherDirectorCG(a)
54West VirginiaOffice of the State AuditorJohn McCuskey (R)State AuditorCE4 yrs.No limit
55WisconsinState Controller's OfficeAngela ThomasState ControllerSCS(b)
56WyomingOffice of the State AuditorKristi Racines (R)State AuditorCE4 yrs.No limit
11Dist. of ColumbiaOffice of Financial Operations and SystemsKimberly WilliamsDeputy Chief Financial Officer
66GuamDepartment of AdministrationEdward BirnDirector
69CNMI*Department of FinanceDavid AtaligSecretary of Finance
72Puerto RicoDepartment of the TreasuryFrancisco ParesSecretary of Treasury
78U.S. Virgin IslandsOffice of Management and BudgetJenifer O'NealDirector
46South DakotaBureau of Financial ManagementJim TerwilligerCommissioner/CFOSG(a)
06CaliforniaDepartment of FinanceRichard GillihanChief Operating Officer
05ArkansasOffice of the State AuditorAndrea LeaState Auditor


Comptrollers: Technical Activities and Functions, 2020 edition, National Association of State Auditors, Comptrollers and Treasurers.


* Commonwealth of Northern Mariana Islands
✓ — Yes, provision for.
✕ — No provision for.
C — Constitutional
S — Statutory
N.A. — Not applicable.
E — Elected by the public.
G — Appointed by the Governor.
CS — Civil Service.
AG — Approved by the governor.
AS — Approved/confirmed by the Senate.
AL — Approved by the Legislature.
SBD — Approved by State Budget Director.
GA — Confirmed by the General Assembly.
SDB — Confirmed by State Depository Board.


(a) Serves indefinitely at the pleasure of the governor. In South Dakota, also serves at the pleasure of the CFO.
(b) Indefinite.
(c) State merit system appointment; selected and recommended by state finance director.
(d) Appointed by the head of the department of administration or administrative services.
(e) Appointed by the head of finance department or agency.
(f) Appointed by the head of finance and administration/administrative services.
(g) Appointed by the director of management & enterprise services.
(h) Serves indefinitely at the pleasure of the head of the director of management & enterprise services.
(i) Serves indefinitely at the pleasure of the head of the finance, financial and administrative services or administration department.
(j) Hired through a selection process.
(k) Appointed by the state chief financial officer.
(l) One year contract similar to other division director.
(m) Confirmed by the governor and executive council.